(Close Window)
Topic: Complete Beginner - Where to start performing?
I am 21 years old, and have been studying Mentalism for about 3 months.

Although I am a beginner, I would like to start performing simple routines at this point.

I live in Alberta, Canada. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get started? I am a little nervous about doing this at an open mic, because those are usually for musicians...

I would prefer to perform for groups less than 20 people. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!!
I have the same question regarding close up!
To the both of you, my advice would be to start performing for friends, family...perhaps at family outings like birthdays or holiday parties. Then, once you get a bit more comfortable and confident in your routining and performance, seek out events such as Open Mic nights, and the like. Believe me, the crowd might appreciate the change of pace, and the fact that you'd likely be the only performer in your category should comfort you. Realize this means the crowd won't be comparing you to any other magician or mentalist performing that night, as there won't likely be one. Hope this helps!
It would be neat if there were enough people to have an open mic night for magicians, but that'd be tough to get together. That leaves comedy, poetry, or music open mics. I would think it could fit right in with a comedy open mic if there's one around. But an open mic night of musicians might work out better than you'd think. They used to have comics and/or magic acts opening for concerts, and in an emcee way a mentalist's patter could be perfect to keep the fun going in between acts.
I practice on my friends. Where do I Perform?
Message: Posted by: Sock Puppet Monkey (Mar 17, 2011 11:16AM)