The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The April 2006 entrée: Michael Ammar » » Miscellaneous » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Chris Becker
View Profile
Veteran user
New York, NY
371 Posts

Profile of Chris Becker
Michael,

Thanks for spending a week with us!

I only saw you live once, during your lecture tour in Vienna. Like many of us, I've been a student of yours for many years (I'm 25, so not THAT many years). Although I appreciate your comprehensive teachings on card and coin magic for L&L, I have to admit that I like your earlier work even better. My favorite is your book (Magic of MA) as well as the Stevens Magic video, which is wonderful. I, personally, think your cups and ball routine is maybe the best three cup routine I know.

Anyway, I wouldn't be able to describe the differences between your performance style in your beginnings and now other than in some very clumsy, second-language terms. So why not make this a question? How do you think you have changed as a performer. And - probably a difficult question to answer - do you think you did anything better 20 years ago?

Thanks for everything,

Christof
- - -
<BR>Cards don't cheat people. People cheat people.
Michael Ammar
View Profile
Creative Spotlight Guest
83 Posts

Profile of Michael Ammar
Hi Christof,

I can understand where you are coming from on this. There is a difference between the material I was working on in my earliest days and the material I felt I needed to work on when putting together the projects for L&L.

In the early days, the technical demands of a particular routine was a non-issue, because I was able to totally immerse myself with a routine for long periods of time.