The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Curtis Kam/ Flipper Coins (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Musashi
View Profile
Regular user
Oregon
132 Posts

Profile of Musashi
Hello All,

I just posted a review of Curtis Kams Deceptions in Paradise Video in the reviews section plese check it out!

I also wanted to talk about a gaff I have never used before.

The flipper.

I have never used a flipper before because to me it always seemed too "gimmicky". For coin routines that require a secret "extra" I have always used a shell (or extra coin) feeling that I could palm it off if I needed to. That having beed said, I have recently changed my mind.

Curtis sent me a set of lecture notes that had me rethinking my former position. The thing that really got me was Curtis' suggestion to actually let a spectator hold the gaff for you at one point. Leading to VERY clean magic, no palming and no suspicious displays.

Don't get me wrong this is not an easy thing to contemplate. Audience management is at an all time high when you put fekes in thier hands, but with gentle guidance you can perform miracles!

Do any of you regularly use flipper coins in your work?

I would like to know.

Josh
"Care for a Jelly Baby?"
Jonathan Townsend
View Profile
Eternal Order
Ossining, NY
27300 Posts

Profile of Jonathan Townsend
That's a nice Doctor Who quote in your signature. Fourth doctor? Any thoughts on David Tennent?

Okay... Curtis good, flipper... ask folks like Troy Hoooser and our "godhandz", Eric also at the Café.
...to all the coins I've dropped here
Father Photius
View Profile
Grammar Host
El Paso, TX (Formerly Amarillo)
17161 Posts

Profile of Father Photius
Curtis definitely does great stuff, all his lecture notes are worth their weight in gold, and the Deceptions DVD (from his younger days) is a must have for any serious coin worker. Great stuff.