The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Now I've mastered the pass? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Eddy
View Profile
Special user
Manchester
582 Posts

Profile of Eddy
I'm relatively new to magic, but have quickly become absorbed. I have learnt so many sleights, and have learnt some great tricks. The problem is I tend to improvise a lot, i.e... I make the tricks up myself as I go. I have just perfected the Pass, the Hermann version being my favourite as it is undetectable and leaves the unsuspecting audience baffled and bewildered when they see their card appear on top of the pack, when the hands have barely moved.
My favorite trick involving the Hermann, riffle and classic pass is "Passing along the invisible Aces". It's a great effect although a bit limited after having done it a million times. Please friends fill me in on some more tricks using the pass. I would be very greatful.
La magie, c'est ma vie
Paul
View Profile
Inner circle
A good lecturer at your service!
4409 Posts

Profile of Paul
In the majority of cases the pass is simply used as a control, so you could simply continue to use that as your preferred method of control.

I must admit, I used to use and like the Hermann Turnover pass, but most tricks do not use any kind of pass and it is no longer an essential sleight to master.

You said;
I have learnt so many sleights, and have learnt some great tricks.

So many sleights?
Some great tricks?

Be careful you don't just become a sleight collector! Try not to learn a sleight on it's own, learn it in conjunction with a trick that utilizes it.

There is a thread elsewhere on the site about the best five sleights, and really you probably need to know, no more than five or six.