The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The November 2008 entrée: Adam Grace » » The Dilemma of the Renaissance Man » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Chappo
View Profile
Special user
Bris Vegas
754 Posts

Profile of Chappo
Hi Adam,

I'm going to put to a question to you which I have been wishing to ask for a quite a long period of time now. I am still relatively new to magic (3 years into it). Also, the majority of my corporate experience lies in roving acting as well as my private jazz gigs. Forgive me if the question has been thrown at you before, but I am rather isolated when it comes to magical discussions (currently residing in Brisbane, QLD , Australia).

I am currently undertaking a Human Movement Studies degree (Kinaesiology for the yanks), working with the Australian Army as a Reservist, playing Jazz Saxophone around Brisbane, undertaking film work when it comes my way and indeed any acting gig when they present themselves (a fickle industry as you well know), completing voice over work for animation, rehearsing in musical theater gigs and ... performing my magic whenever I get a chance. I would like to refer to myself as a Renaissance man, rather then a Jack of All Trades. And, once again, as you well know, you can hardly rely on any one field of the afore mentioned to generate CONSTANT income. Unless your bl**dy lucky! Smile

For me, life is too short to be boring. I know that if I stuck with one single commitment/field of interest I would bore myself to death; no matter how much I may enjoy it as an entity. So I really begin to boil when people refer to me as some no-hoper who has no idea what he likes and is trolling the corporate circuit with his big-ol'-bag-o'-corporate skills simply to make a buck in any way possible.