The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The November 2008 entrée: Adam Grace » » I find this a little disturbing » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MikeyM71
View Profile
Regular user
Chesapeake, OH
153 Posts

Profile of MikeyM71
Hey there Adam. I'm new to the Café' and I must say that it's great that they feature guests such as yourself. I recently viewed a demo of Frozen and thought it was pretty cool. I feel I should mention that I came across a post in another forum that I found completely in bad form. It was someone who had either purchased your effect, or happened upon it illegally. This person expressed no shame in revealing the secret as soon as he/she acquired it. My personal thought on this is one of total disgust. Every person in the unmentioned forum rejoiced in the revelation and couldn't wait to show it off. Whenever I read these posts I can't help but wonder about the future of magic. These people give absolutely no thought to what the consequences might be. I fear I might be strolling down the street one day, performing, and someone will scoff and say, "Oh yea, I was web surfing the other day and some kid was revealing that one". I know that it's inevitable. I would appreciate any of your thoughts on this matter.
<BR>Mikey M.
Adam Grace
View Profile
V.I.P.
LA, CA
149 Posts

Profile of Adam Grace
Gadfly, thanks for your comments. I'm honored to be the featured magician this month. I'm not a "magic star" like most who get to do this.

I have mixed feeling about what you write. There are some that say that the measure of your success can be equated to the number of people ripping you off.

Like you, I happen to be really disturbed by this pattern. If people truly understood the ripple effect this has in magic, they wouldn't do it. The end result is that the creators, like myself, will stop putting out magic. It is already happening.