The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Wedding Reception (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jkvand
View Profile
Special user
Johnstown, PA
658 Posts

Profile of jkvand
Hi all,
I have a potential wedding reception gig coming up in September, and I would like to ask for anyone who has done weddings before to share any thoughts you have regarding a performance of this type? It is strolling magic during the cocktail hour. I received the call about the booking from a man who saw me do strolling magic at his company Christmas party a couple of years ago, and the wedding is for his daughter. My question is not related to the magic aspect, as I know what tricks I'll be doing. I've been performing for 20 years, but most of my work has been standup/platform magic. I have done enough close up over the years to have a good set, and have been hired for a few strolling gigs over the years, but never a wedding. So the advice I seek is more related to the logistics of working a wedding reception, as this is not something I have done before. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! -Jeff
Denis Bastible
View Profile
Loyal user
Buffalo, New York
293 Posts

Profile of Denis Bastible
You are moving from table to table like a restaurant gig. The people just have nicer clothes and are drunk.
Michael Baker
View Profile
Eternal Order
Near a river in the Midwest
11172 Posts

Profile of Michael Baker
Tables are not a given, as the cocktail portion of this reception may be in an area apart from the main dining room. If this is before dinner, that's always a possibility. Call the client and verify that info.

If you are working the early part of the event, it is also less likely you'll be dealing with drunks. Of course, that will depend a lot on the guest list too.