The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Advertisement (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Roy the Illusionist
View Profile
Regular user
Tennessee, USA
147 Posts

Profile of Roy the Illusionist
I just started performing shows(even though I've been doing magic seriously for 2 years) and I was thinking about posting flyers at my local library and maybe giving some of my business cards to a few shops in the town square(it's only about 3 minutes from my house). What do you guys think? Thanks, Roy
Are you watching closely?
motown
View Profile
Inner circle
Atlanta by way of Detroit
6136 Posts

Profile of motown
Those are both good thoughts. Just make sure you put some good thinking in to what the flyer is going to say and show.
"If you ever write anything about me after I'm gone, I will come back and haunt you."
– Karl Germain
Ed_Millis
View Profile
Inner circle
Yuma, AZ
2292 Posts

Profile of Ed_Millis
Go down to the Tricky Business forum. There's lots of good info there.

Ed
Robin4Kids
View Profile
Veteran user
Lower Alabama
396 Posts

Profile of Robin4Kids
Being in the advertising & marketing business for many years, my best advice is to make sure that anything you put out with your name on it looks professional. A poorly designed business card, website or flyer may get your contact information out there, but if they haven't seen you perform, it also is the first impression someone may have about your ability as a magician. Make the effort to do it right, even if you have to get some help, and it should pay off for you in the long run.
magicman344
View Profile
New user
85 Posts

Profile of magicman344
Those all look like great ideas, but as Robin4Kids said:
Quote:
On 2013-05-07 10:32, Robin4Kids wrote:
my best advice is to make sure that anything you put out with your name on it looks professional.

You could also look for community events such as fairs and other social gatherings