The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » I'm a real boy! » » Vent for seniors (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

danfreed
View Profile
Inner circle
West Chester PA
1354 Posts

Profile of danfreed
I'm kind of new to doing vent. I'm strictly a kids entertainer, and have been doing magic, balloons, caricatures, etc for kids for a long time. And I've been doing a little vent with soft puppets since this summer, and I'm ramping it up. But today I did some casual vent stuff for a small senior home for the first time, in addition to caricatures and balloons. I did it more like a walk around, for 20 minutes. It went fairly well, got some good laughs, and they appreciated it. Those ladies loved to hug and kiss the puppets. But do you guys have some advice on doing vent specifically for seniors? I'd like to do some more, I know they appreciate it and need some fun and I like making them happy, and I can make a few bucks at the same time.
Maybe a book or video? I'm more concerned about doing it for the seniors who have lost some of their mental capicity, regressed to childhood to some extent or another, dimentia, etc. I was going to try some of the material I do for kids today, and I did a little of that, but it seemed like that wasn't going to fly real well, so I didn't really do an act too much, mostly just had the puppets interact with the ladies. Advice would be very appreciated. Thanks.
harris
View Profile
Inner circle
Harris Deutsch
8812 Posts

Profile of harris
My experience led me to

A. Singing older songs
B. Do harder labials myself
C. Use harmonica to play melodies or blues riff as needed
D. Use a microphone even when I don't think the room needs one.
E. Also use large marionettes for walk around pre- show work.
F. Ask audience to sing along.
G. Repeat set up lines for jokes.
H. Don't talk down to them
I. Have centers invite families.