The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All in the cards » » Routines (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

David95
View Profile
Regular user
115 Posts

Profile of David95
I am just getting started in cards. I have gotten the ultimate self working card tricks, all 3, and Ryan Schultz miracles without moves. I have done tricks from them but only combined 2 of them as was suggested on vol 2. I was wanting to know if any of you have made a whole routine with 3 or 4 of these self workers. Is that to many tricks to do with them all being self workers? Would like to hear what you more experienced magicians think.
Thanks,
David
Atom3339
View Profile
Inner circle
Spokane, WA
3242 Posts

Profile of Atom3339
David, If each effect looks distinctively different, three is fine.

Smile
TH

Occupy Your Dream
captainsmiffy
View Profile
Special user
UK, resident UAE
589 Posts

Profile of captainsmiffy
Why worry about how many self- workers you are doing? If a trick is good, then it is good. Make it your best piece, whether you are using a self worker or are, indeed, using sleight of hand or some other auch subterfuge.....it is the effect and how it is perceived that is king. Who cares whether it is self working or not.....the audience certainly doesn't. It is all about your presentation of the effect that counts. Nothing else. I have a few routines which can run from one self worker to another, where one effect sets up for the next etc. But pick them as the above poster states, because they are different. There are some amazing self workers out there (as well as a lot of lame ones, too!) so do your research and hunt them out and when you find them, don't automatically use them in the way that they are being used. Modify them, adapt them, make them your own....and don't limit yourself! A good trick is a good trick, irrespective of how you achieve the effect. Who cares how many of them you are using?!