The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Pasteboard Frolics » » One handed cuts (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

DrNorth
View Profile
Veteran user
North Starr Entertainment, Harrisburg PA
364 Posts

Profile of DrNorth
Recently I started playing with one handed cuts and shuffles. After a week of toying with them, l had a startling realisation. As a right handed person, I found I was doing these manipulations left handed! When I tried with my right, I flt far more awkward and clumsy. Is this common? Any ideas why this would be?
Smile
"For it shows things that were, and things that are, and things that yet may be. But which it that he sees, even the wisest cannot always tell"
~Galadriel

"A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes."
Anatole
View Profile
Inner circle
1912 Posts

Profile of Anatole
I am right-handed and I also do my one-handed cuts and shuffles (and also the coin roll) with my left hand. I just checked Henry Hay's _The Amateur Magician's Handbook_ and he photos of his hand also show the coin roll and the Charlier Cut being done with the left hand.

----- Amado "Sonny" Narvaez
----- Sonny Narvaez
Googoomafint11
View Profile
New user
I actually have more than only
28 Posts

Profile of Googoomafint11
It's interesting for sure. I know a lot of tutorials are taught using the left hand, but I started with magic and kind of taught myself the charlier cut, and automatically chose to do it with my right hand, as I am right handed and thought that would be easiest. From there I've actually always started learning a one handed cut with my right hand, and now can do a whole bunch smoothly with my right hand, only some with my left hand, and not quite so smoothly...
Definitely something interesting though...
Error 404
Code _signature_ not found
RudolfRassen
View Profile
New user
81 Posts

Profile of RudolfRassen