The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » A question to the professionals about presentation (9 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Vogler
View Profile
Special user
Greece
710 Posts

Profile of Vogler
I am an amateur magician and I study the art more than I perform it.I have some experience and knowledge because I'am involved in magic from a very young age.
But I do not perform very often, comparing how much I practice and study.
So I get nervous when I'm in front of a bigger crowd and unknown people. Not that I make mistakes or something, but I don't have the pleasure to be relaxed and calm and enjoy the show and really play with the audience. I have noticed (after watching some recordings) that I'am quicker than I want, and once I learn a trick, to make it really mine and realize the weak spots of it, the effect must come in contact with the public. Once you learn perfectly a trick , how many times or how long it takes you to perform it so you make it your trick and enjoy the presentation? Even if I'am doing it flawlessly in front the mirror, when I present it to a real audience, it is a very different thing. Also when I tape myself performing in a real audience I like the moves but not my style and patter, it seems very amateurish...I have read books on presentation and I know the theory but I feel the only cure for these problems is performing every day....what the experienced guys here think these? maybe I have to write a specific patter word to word? I don't want to be a professional, but a really really good amateur magician. But can I without performing every day like a professional?
davidpaul$
View Profile
Inner circle
Georgetown, South Carolina
3094 Posts

Profile of davidpaul$
Juliano,