The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Method: what's your approach? (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

danaruns
View Profile
Special user
The City of Angels
808 Posts

Profile of danaruns
When I was first learning magic (I'm still learning, and will continue to, always), I found that the tricks most available to me were predominantly self-working card tricks. This kept me satisfied for about two months, but I quickly found that I was bored by them, and shifted to sleight-of-hand magic that was much more difficult. As I continued, I found that the vast majority of my peers were content with tricks that were mostly self-working or had only simple sleights. I was kind of the oddball of the group. My approach to learning magic was out of step with others.

What is your approach? What makes you happiest? What works best for you? What kind of tricks do you enjoy most?

I doubt there's a right answer to this. For me, I found it much more enjoyable to rely on sleight skills, even when I could do it more easily with a gimmick. And even when I could use a gimmick, such as in a performance where the audience never has the chance to examine anything, I didn't. Still don't. One fairly well-known master magician told me that I should embrace gimmicks whenever possible, saying that the method was not important, only the effect was, and that I was "working too hard."

As someone posting in the "New to Magic" sub forum, what are your thoughts on method, and learning magic?
"Dana Douglas is the greatest magician alive. Plus, I'm drunk." -- Foster Brooks
gomerel
View Profile
Elite user
458 Posts

Profile of gomerel
I'm not exactly new. In fact I am old and have too much arthritis in my hands to do difficult slights. So, yes, I mostly do self-working tricks. The look on spectators' eyes, especially kids', makes me happy.
WitchDocChris
View Profile
Inner circle
York, PA
2614 Posts