The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All in the cards » » Twenty one card trick (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mysticmelville
View Profile
New user
Scotland
51 Posts

Profile of mysticmelville
I am a semi pro magician who tutors students in Drawing and Painting and confidence building. I have found through working with a young student (who has very poor digital dexterity) that the Twenty One card trick has been of great help. This student loves magic as well as art. He has though, very low self esteem. Through him learning this trick (by getting the spectator to follow instructions as its self working) he is now learning to present himself as confident. He is realising that he is witty and that he interacts well with spectators. Also any understanding by the spectator of how the trick works is "thrown off track" because they have to listen to this young student offering instructions.
Great proof that a lot of good magic is in the presentation.
marc_carrion
View Profile
Special user
638 Posts

Profile of marc_carrion
Dani DaOrtiz has a great presentation for the 21 card trick that does not depend on the secret for the 21 card trick. It uses a totally different principle. Anyone that knows the original will be totally fooled.
Claudio
View Profile
Inner circle
Europe
1946 Posts

Profile of Claudio
Interesting post, mysticmelville. Your student might be able to add a modicum of sleight of hand and perform some Marlo's handlings (shown here by Bill Malone). Easy and really fooling!

depeka
View Profile
New user
Germany, Bielefeld
51 Posts

Profile of depeka
@Marc
Do you know how the effect from DaOrtiz is called?
marc_carrion
View Profile
Special user
638 Posts

Profile of marc_carrion
It's called "The 21 Card trick"

It's in the semiautomatic series:
http://www.penguinmagic.com/p/8376

Marc
mysticmelville
View Profile
New user
Scotland
51 Posts

Thanks Claudio,