The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » I need advice for my next purchase (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

joethebunny
View Profile
New user
Potomac, MD
31 Posts

Profile of joethebunny
I have been doing magic for a few months. I've pretty much mastered everything in RRTCM with the exception of the pass (I can do one but it is far from invisible).

I've had my eye on two products for a long time: the Street Magic Package from E and volume one of the Art of Astonishment. Which one would you recommend? I'm interested in doing hard-hitting impromptu magic with various objects such as cards, coins, etc.

Does Art of Astonishment contain many tricks of different varieties (cards, coins, etc.), or is it mainly card tricks? Also, how does Recap from AOA differ from the one in On the Spot? I watched the On the Spot demo, and the recap shown in it was amazing. I especially like the part where the pen cap disappeared and reappeared inside his ear. Does the AOA version have this?

Thanks.
Reis O'Brien
View Profile
Inner circle
Seattle, WA
2467 Posts

Profile of Reis O'Brien
AOA is simply jam packed with great stuff! It will keep you busy for many months and will be one of those books you go back to for reference over and over again. There are many different types of effects in there, not just cards.

And it's so well written it's actually fun to read (which is hard to say about most books).

My advice for you is to get started on the AOA series. You won't be sorry!
Homo vult decipi; decipiatur

http://www.myspace.com/liar_4_hire
joethebunny
View Profile
New user
Potomac, MD
31 Posts

Profile of joethebunny
What about the Recaps? How does AOA's recap differ from On the Spot's?
chichi711
View Profile
Inner circle
5810 Posts

Profile of chichi711
It doesn't. They are the same routine as far as I can remember.
TheCaffeinator
View Profile
Regular user
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
126 Posts