The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » From The Wizards Cave - by Bill Palmer » » Intellectual Property and Magic (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Bill Palmer
View Profile
Eternal Order
Only Jonathan Townsend has more than
24315 Posts

Profile of Bill Palmer
Well, the question of intellectual property (IP) and magic has reared its head again, and the need to unscramble certain misconceptions about the various ways magic might be protected has become very evident to me. I will attempt to unscramble as much of it as I can.

First of all, the disclaimer. I am not an attorney. I'm not an IP lawyer. I'm what one would call an educated layman. I own part of over 790 items that my father wrote, plus a dozen or so of my own. That's a lot of material. I am the third generation in a family of people involved in the publishing business in one way or another. I also own two trademarks.

So, where to begin?

There are two basic types of IP protection -- patent and copyright. Patents are used to protect mechanical devices, systems and the like. Trademarks fall under patent law. Copyrights are used to protect written matter, music, dance choreography, movies, photographs, sculptures, paintings, etc. -- basically things that are inside the artist's mind that can be expressed in a concrete form of some sort. Sometimes there is an apparent overlap. Integrated circuits are not patented, although the integrated circuit, itself was. Integrated circuits are made from photographs, so the photographs are copyrighted.

Why does this make a difference?