The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Classic Palm Timing (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
scrivomcdivo
View Profile
New user
Liverpool, United Kingdom
61 Posts

Profile of scrivomcdivo
I know this may probably seem a daft question to some people, but I'm an absolute beginner to coin magic and so I need some guidance Smile

I am currently working my way through basic coin techniques and am working on the Classic Palm technique using a 10p piece (I have read the various threads regarding what UK coins to use and the 10p seems to suit me - I think.) Now, I am just wondering how fast you should be able to get a coin from your fingertips and palmed? I know it should be done in a split second but how fast? By the time it takes to say the word "it?" Likewise, are there any online video clips showing the classic palm so I can get an idea about the speed taken? I just won't want to move on to the next technique when I haven't mastered the basic one.

Thanks once again all Smile
Jaz
View Profile
Inner circle
NJ, U.S.
6111 Posts

Profile of Jaz
The time to do it is when the hand w/ the coin is moving or when you have them focusing elsewhere.
This may be done when dropping the hand to your side, reaching to pick something up, pointing to something, etc.

It's not so much a matter of how fast you do it as it is to do it naturally and/or secretly.
phedonbilek
View Profile
Special user
Greece, Cameroon, France
884 Posts

Profile of phedonbilek
It's in no way a matter of speed, get this out of your mind. Of course it should not take you two minutes, but you can do it relatively 'slow'. You don't palm the coin while specs are burning your hands, so... given some misdirection (just talk to them, ask a question...) you have the time to palm your coin ten times.