The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Session/lessons (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

an76
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of an76
Hi, I am new to sleight of hand card magic. (maybe 6 months practice). I'm searching for experienced card magicians to session with and/or take lessons from in northern/central new jersey. very interested in becoming well-versed in sleight of hand card magic.
VcosNJ
View Profile
Inner circle
1179 Posts

Profile of VcosNJ
I haven't gone although I really should. Joe Rindfleisch and a bunch of other guys get together and session Monday nights. I think it's still going on. Read the link for more info and PM him.

Sessioning in NJ
solrak29
View Profile
Special user
NY Metro
936 Posts

Profile of solrak29
What does it mean to "session"?
To Find Me On The Pitch, Follow me :On Twitter
Checkout my pseudo blog : The Sidewalk Performers Forum

"I intend to live forever, or die trying" - Groucho Marx
VcosNJ
View Profile
Inner circle
1179 Posts

Profile of VcosNJ
It means getting together and showing each other moves, new routines, techniques, etc. It's basically a way for magicians to talk about magic and learn from each other. No strings attached, and you'll walk away with some new friends in the process.
Matt Malinas
View Profile
Inner circle
Transylvania
1367 Posts

Profile of Matt Malinas
You should definatly take advantage of that.
the only person I had the opportunity to have this kind of session with was a 52 year old magician from the town where I go to college.he is very experienced but he does stage magic. I am mainly a close-up kind of guy , anywhere nowhere near stage and you can imagine that we didn't have much material to share.
anyway it was very helpful for both of us. we discussed presentation, patter psychology and what not. you shouldn't pass this up.
good luck !

-Matt
The masters make the rules, for the wise men and the fools