The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Card DVD or Book (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Wes65
View Profile
Inner circle
I've said very little in
1219 Posts

Profile of Wes65
Hello,

I'm not new to magic or even to close up. Actually I've been doing card tricks for about thirty years. However, if you handed me a deck of cards you would quickly learn that I have a couple routines and that is it. Everything I've done with cards is packet tricks.

I have no plans to major in cards. My focus is coins. What I'm looking for is few solid card routines that I can do with a deck [little or no gaffs (ungaffed preferred), by that I mean a double facer or double backer or duplicate, nothing else]. I want to be able to mix things up a little with some cards.

My skills are: A decent pass, double lift, slide, classic palm, Four or five false counts, a couple of forces, a couple of basic false shuffles.

I know some of you card handlers out there know the perfect Book or DVD.

BTW, the only card thing I'm working on right now is the ten card poker deal.
Wes
Doc Magic
View Profile
Regular user
Pasadena, CA
151 Posts

Profile of Doc Magic
If your in to gambling presentations ect... a must is the "Cardshark" DVDs & "At the card table" book by Darwin Ortiz.
"Experience is not what happens to you; it is what you do with what happens to you."- Aldous Huxley
Jaz
View Profile
Inner circle
NJ, U.S.
6111 Posts

Profile of Jaz
I hope that you don't take this the wrong way Wes.

There are tons of card books and DVDs that use a full deck.
Also, not all routines fit all magicians styles or venues so 'solid card routines' is a matter of preference and presentation.
I'm sure you will be getting a lot of opinions here.

I'm not a card major either but I do have several books pertaining to magic.