The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Controlling audience attention? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Sean
View Profile
Regular user
No Cal
171 Posts

Profile of Sean
I'm new to magic. I did it as a kid then picked it up again after Thanksgiving. Yesterday I was doing a card trick for a friend and I noticed that he stared only at the cards whether or not I was talking to him or looking him in the face. Needless to say, this made preparing for a double lift a bit more difficult and nervewracking. Fortunately, my wife came by, I asked her a question and that diverted his attention to her for the moment I needed to get the lift.
So my question: any good advice on misdirecting spectator's attentions when they seem determined to look at your hands?

The double lift and the effect worked well, btw. First time I did it for someone who wasn't my spouse. Smile
martinkaplan
View Profile
Special user
Los Angeles
552 Posts

Profile of martinkaplan
Audiences will pay closer attention when you imply through body language and words that this is an important phase of the routine. Sleights, such as preparing for the double, need to be done on the offbeat with your body relaxed. Sometimes verbal misdirection will supply the offbeat, sometimes physical misdirection will supply the offbeat and sometimes you just need to wait. There will always be spectators who are determined to burn your hands and you need to take advantage of whatever opportunity presents itself. It seems that you did just that.

-Marty
hobbymagic
View Profile
New user
Houston, Texas
61 Posts

Profile of hobbymagic
Sometimes your patter can include asking a question. It is difficult to answer a question without looking at the person.
Peter Marucci
View Profile
Inner circle
5388 Posts

Profile of Peter Marucci
Marty may be on to something in his post, Sean.