The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The January 2003 entrée: Darwin Ortiz » » Which book/video to begin with? » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

stevehw
View Profile
Veteran user
Collinsville, Mississippi
303 Posts

Profile of stevehw
Darwin,
I don't have any of your material yet, but would like to begin with one of your books or videos.
I am not a beginner, but not advanced either.
Since you have several books and videos out, which would you recommend as a starting point for your work?

Thanks
Steve
Darwin Ortiz
View Profile
V.I.P.
486 Posts

Profile of Darwin Ortiz
Steve:

I don’t think it matters which of my three card books you start with. If you want to see how my thinking has developed, you can read them in chronological order: Darwin Ortiz at the Card Table, Cardshark, Scams & Fantasies with Cards.

One thing I do advise is that you read the book before going to the accompanying set of videos. I believe that the main value of magic videos is as a supplement to books. If you read the books without watching the videos, you won’t miss much. If you watch the videos without reading the books, you’ll miss a lot.

Since it’s hard for me to be objective about my own writings, perhaps some other Café members may wish to offer responses to your question.

Sincerely,
Darwin Ortiz
cardguy
View Profile
Inner circle
Queens, New York
1171 Posts

Profile of cardguy
I would recommend starting out with Strong Magic, and if you want some routines to go along with it you can pick up any one of those 3 books because they are all excellent.
Frank G. a.k.a. Cardguy
da5id
View Profile
Loyal user
Dublin, Ireland
268 Posts

Profile of da5id
I would love to purchase Strong Magic but I'm having a difficult time finding it since it's out of print. Darwin, do you sell it yourself or can you recommend somewhere online that will ship to Ireland? Thanks!
Ulf Richter
View Profile
New user
Germany