The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Advice for a newbie. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mddkf
View Profile
New user
24 Posts

Profile of mddkf
I been doing magic for friends and family for the last year and I am struggling with the reaction of some of the people I do magic for( one person in particular). For some reason he feels the need to blurt out how an effect is done and go on and on explaining it to everyone else. What really bugs me is sometimes he is right. I know I'm new to this, but it is not just a matter of him "seeing" how the trick is done or poor technique. Part me thinks I should just practice more, but the other half says that this is a person who I should not do magic for. What do you think?
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3698 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
Duh - why bother doing magic for an a_ _ _ _ _ e. Entertain the people that appreciate what you're trying to do.

Jim
Slartibartfast
View Profile
Loyal user
Southern Illinois
230 Posts

Profile of Slartibartfast
Quote:
On 2007-08-15 16:31, mddkf wrote:
Part me thinks I should just practice more, but the other half says that this is a person who I should not do magic for. What do you think?

Yes and yes.
If you can pull it off in a biker bar without being violated by a corn dog, more power to you.
-- Gwyd, the Unusual

"YOUR Signature...speaks volumns (sic) as to your lack of understanding."
--T.V.
Jaz
View Profile
Inner circle
NJ, U.S.
6111 Posts

Profile of Jaz
"sometimes he's right"?

And likely a good guess.

Doing magic for these types can teach you something that all the practice in the world can't.
If this person interrupts your performance, look him/her straight in the eye for a long pause and say, "Should I continue or should I just stop now?". Then look at the others for a response. Many times they will tell the heckler to keep quiet.