The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Needs help. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Dragona
View Profile
Regular user
New Jersey
159 Posts

Profile of Dragona
I am just starting out as a magician. My nephew has a birthday party soon and I thought that my mentor and I can do both clowning and magic. (They love him because he does the magic. Half the time they ask him how he does it, and he always shows them.) But I was wondering about tricks that we can do that kids absolutely love? Smile Smile Smile Smile
I have the breath of dragons and the soul of a human.
Billy Whizz
View Profile
Special user
Plymouth, UK
576 Posts

Profile of Billy Whizz
No wonder they love him. It's not a good thing to show the kids how the magic is done. He's obviosly not a professional if that's the way he works. In my opinion, that would spoil all the fun and amazement for the children.

Quote:
On 2003-05-11 16:34, But I was wondering about tricks that we can do that kids absolutely love?

You said the above quote, and mention the word 'WE'. I would be surprised if anyone told you anything at all. Any professional, or any dedicated magicians DO NOT show or tell how magic is done to children.
Cheshire Cat
View Profile
Special user
Wilmslow, UK
941 Posts

Profile of Cheshire Cat
I would advise any kids' trick costing you over $350. This way you would certainly keep secrets, as a large proportion of the value of a trick is its secret!
Magictrickster
View Profile
Regular user
UK
114 Posts

Profile of Magictrickster
Hi,
With regard to which tricks kids love, I think the age of the child is a factor here— although a lot of tricks can be suited to various ages with different handling.

In general, though, I think kids like to see interesting, varied and brightly coloured props, and often love effects in which they can assist.

Brian.
Brian
Peter Marucci
View Profile
Inner circle
5389 Posts