The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The October 2009 entrée: John Bannon » » Advice for beginners? » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Hansen
View Profile
Special user
Down Under
653 Posts

Profile of Hansen
Hi John,
I've a teenage (15) nephew who's shown an interest in card magic. I was wondering, if you were just starting out in the world of card magic, but had all the knowledge you have now, where would you begin? How would you map out the journey of complete novice to expert? Based on all the wonderful resources available today, what do you recommend?
Many thanks,
Jason
John Bannon
View Profile
V.I.P.
152 Posts

Profile of John Bannon
Hansen,

Interesting question. Funny you should ask. I have been considering writing a series for rank beginners. Self-working tricks that don't suck steeped in a discussion of principle. Borrowed and shuffled--no moves. Hopefully, the discussion will be intersting to those who have been around the block as well.

The problems with entry level magic: Too many self-working tricks require a stack. Too many suck. Too many books accelerate the skill/understanding requirements too fast. So a newcomer has to be somewhat resilient just build a basic understanding.

My series would carry a beginner through his or her first ten or twelve tricks in a structured way--before any sleight of hand is required. What do you all think about this idea?

Otherwise, the Card College Light/Lighter books are the best entry level books around that I've seen. Every other book suffers from one or more of the above issues.