The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Helping hands » » Non Disclosure and Screening for Added Effect (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

joe yang
View Profile
Loyal user
Florida
296 Posts

Profile of joe yang
Doug Henning was on Broadway when I was a student in NYC. Most of my friends were studying acting around the city. Many of them took turns as "audience volunteers" in The Magic Show.

They would que up at the box office early to be "pre screened". They would get a briefing and sign a non disclosure agreement. Then they would run home, clean up and tell all their friends and family, and return.

It worked on a couple levels. First, as aspiring actors, the kids all took the non-disclosure very seriously. Disclosure would violate their eligability for the unions. They weren't afraid of legal action. The Magic Show was a union production. These kids wanted into the union. They didn't want to be black balled.

Second, the pre job brief focused the kids on their role as credible volunteers. It effectively distracted them from focusing on the illusions.

Third, they called all their friends and family. Anyone who could came to the show.

The whole pre selection process was very calculated. It had a very strong effect. It still does. Television shows that use live audiences still do it to some degree or another.
aka Mike Booth
NabsS
View Profile
New user
Geneva (Switzerland)
97 Posts

Profile of NabsS
I can see the next trend in magic: