The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Magical equations » » Magic Square Question Using the Same Square but disguising it. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
MeetMagicMike
View Profile
Inner circle
Gainesville Fl
3504 Posts

Profile of MeetMagicMike
I'm just getting into magic squares. I've memorized the magic square taught by Harry Lorayne int "The Magic Book.

Harry mentions that he wouldn't repeat it for the same group because they might notice the pattern.

I work restaurants and while I don't think I would repeat it for the same group I would be concerned with people comparing the results if I give them the square as a souvenir.

I recently noticed that the square I memorized "wraps" on itself. I'm pretty sure I could fold the piece of paper into a cylinder either vertically or horizontally and then cut it apart anywhere and it would still work. Right?

Also, it doesn't matter if you write the numbers vertically or horizontally and you can mirror reflect the whole thing and it still works.

So it seems to me I can start writing my 8 in any square I want and move in any direction I want as long as I am careful to follow the rules of "wrapping" and all will still work in the end. this combined with the fact that the key numbers change depending on the two digit number numbed by the spectator means that the square I come up with will not be very likely to look at all like any others I've ever written.

I played with it tonight and checked the math and it seemed to work. I just wanted some confirmation that this was correct or some warnings if I am wrong.

If I can come up with magic squares that don't resemble each other just by reflecting and shifting this one square, what are the advantages of learning the more complicated squares I have seen others discussing?

I'm a newbie in this area so be kind. Thanks!
Magic Mike

MeetMagicMike.com

I took the Pledge
landmark