The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Cards are fun but what next? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Billy Andrew
View Profile
New user
Scotland U.K.
55 Posts

Profile of Billy Andrew
I've been learning card material for many months now and although I really enjoy it I now realise it's not enough to keep people entertained for a full routine (well not at my level).

What should I consider next? My current library is really focused on card magic with a little coin work thrown in.

As far as I can tell my best options would be

1. Expand coin work.
2. Elastic bands
3. Sponge Balls
4. Ropes
5. Silks

The kind of effect I'm looking for is something I can carry with me.

Any references would be great.
A journey of one thousand miles starts with the first step
Daniel Meadows
View Profile
Loyal user
Manchester, UK
259 Posts

Profile of Daniel Meadows
If you are looking to have a carry round effect, then more coin magic would be a big bonus to your repetoire. You have them in everyday life and if you forget then someone else should have them. Also then you will always be ready to go (as long as you don't need gimmicks).

You don't say what you have for coins but I guess that you have the basics down. Jay Sankey's coin magic video has tons of stuff to practice, some easy, some hard, and you would be hard pressed to not find something that you like.

At the end of the day, it does have to be what you want to do though. I am just assuming that all the options above are valid for you.

Personally, I went from cards to coins to rubberbands and now I am back to cards. I might eventually get round to doing some ropes for some variety.
Check out Infamous at MagicWorld.co.uk
Peter Marucci
View Profile
Inner circle
5388 Posts

Profile of Peter Marucci
Billy,
Coins give you the greatest number of options, for something that you want to be able to carry around with you.