The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The February 2013 entrée: Diamond Jim Tyler » » Dover paperbacks » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

stanalger
View Profile
Special user
St. Louis, MO
993 Posts

Profile of stanalger
I'd love to hear the story of how your Close-Up Magic Secrets became a Dover paperback.
I love Dover paperbacks!
Diamond Jim
View Profile
V.I.P.
Diamond Jim Productions
187 Posts

Profile of Diamond Jim
Okay. This is the first chance I've had to sit in front of my computer in days. I'm going to give you the whole story.

Pockets Full of Miracles released the summer of 2000. By the summer of 2001 it was out of print. The profits from that book helped to make the down payment on my home. I had been performing professionally since 1986. I had won the award for Best Close-Up Magic in 1999 and played the Magic Castle for the first time that year. Once PFM was released things snow-balled for me.

The book was self-published. It is very expensive to do so but it was so worth it. I am very hands on when it comes to producing my products. When something is beyond my grasp I will call in an expert. Anyways back to PFM.

There was a gentleman in Dallas named Lew Zafran. Lew was reverred as the Dai Vernon of Dallas. He did incredible sleight of hand magic up in to his eighties, he was a master craftsman, he was funny, and he had a twinkle in his eye much like Walt Disney.