The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Practicing and Performing Card Magic with fresh Decks (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

cekay
View Profile
New user
4 Posts

Profile of cekay
Hi everyone,

Hi Forum!

I'm new to card magic but at least I'm trying hard to practice. I find it extremly
tough to perform simple tasks like overhand shuffle (with injog) with an freshly
opened deck. I'm trying to renew the pack every second or third day of practice.

So my question is: What would an experienced performer recommend to practice
(and perform) on:

- "Used Cards" in the form that you used them one or two days?
- Try to always practice on a fresh deck so that you can perform
with fresh cards?

Thanks!
Chris
Remagicon
View Profile
Regular user
Somewhere over the Rainbow
124 Posts

Profile of Remagicon
Fresh cards are fine but you have to break them in before you can really handle them. Either by faro shuffling, pressure fans, etc.
"Ars Est Celare Artem"
It is art to hide art
cekay
View Profile
New user
4 Posts

Profile of cekay
Hi Remagicon,

I had to google, what "breaking in" means. But it seems that's exacly the solution to the problem I have. Thanks!

Chris
george1953
View Profile
Inner circle
Mallorca (Spain)
5941 Posts

Profile of george1953
Take the cards and bend the deck backwards and forwards a few times, then turn them over and do it again until they bend easily.
By failing to prepare, we are preparing to fail.
Paragon
View Profile
New user
67 Posts

Profile of Paragon
@cekay: Man, maybe you just have dry hands, or are they OK? Because every slide is difficult with dry hands.
frankvomit
View Profile
Elite user
486 Posts

Profile of frankvomit
I actually have an easier time with a fresh deck than a broken in deck. but that's just personal preferance.
Ryuk
View Profile
New user
5 Posts

Profile of Ryuk