The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The Feminine Mystique » » Professional magic in transition (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

CrazyRocket
View Profile
New user
1 Post

Profile of CrazyRocket
Hey there,

I'm not really new to the magic Café, but this is my first post and I felt I had to come over this section to talk a bit about my situation.

I've been doing magic for the last 15 years, and professionnaly performing close-up magic about once/twice a month for the last year. My interest in public performing grew up at a steady rate and it is something that I really do enjoy now. I'm having more and more professionnal contacts and I feel like I'm ready to take that activity to the next level.

But.

Of course, at this point you might be wondering what is so extraordinary about it. A magician going from amateur to professionnal is quite common indeed on these forums.
The thing is, I'm in the middle of changing my gender. I've been on hormone therapy for about 7 months I'm about to release the breaks to live full-time as female. Although I am not afraid of social consequences, I don't really know how to address these magic-related issues :

- 7 months of hormone therapy changed my appearance quite a lot, and I'm now in a middle-ground "androgynous" appearance. I can still present as male, but it feels weird as I have to wear larger clothes to hide my body development. Not to mention it is counter-productive in a gender change.

- Voice. My voice can be female, as long as I don't speak too loud. The thing is, close-up magic is usually quite noisy and speaking louder makes my voice deeper.

- Professionnalism. How do I tell some of my clients that booked me that I will be performing as female, and that my name has changed without losing too much gigs ?