The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Boxes, tubes & bags » » Sword Thru Neck Controversy (11 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Chezaday
View Profile
Inner circle
Naperville, IL
1673 Posts

Profile of Chezaday
Ok ... this is a new one for me. Just got off the phone with a family that was at one of my recent shows. I chose a young black child to help out with the Sword thru Neck effect and apparently it was a poor choice. I'm always very careful about who I select and this young boy was the right age to help with this routine. I always try to be fair and select children of all ages and all races ... I'm very aware of that. This family was nice enough to bring to my attention that locking stocks around the child's neck had reminded them of slavery ... yes, slavery.

I've been doing this for over 30 years ... and this never had a problem. Of course I'm not trying to offend anyone but, this seems a bit much in this day and age. Your thoughts?

Steve
jay leslie
View Profile
V.I.P.
Southern California
9498 Posts

Profile of jay leslie
It takes all kinds.
The Pariadolia Effect is along a similar vein. (But I forget the exact name of this exact mental state)
People look for what they want to see in a situation then use it to support preconceived notions.
Some say that egocentric people do this too.
Michael Baker
View Profile
Eternal Order
Near a river in the Midwest
11172 Posts

Profile of Michael Baker
Don't you just love it??

Like with any point of resistance, my favorite technique is to embrace the enemy's weapon and appropriate it for my own use. In other words, hit it head on and mention it before anyone else has a chance to. This takes the steam right out of their argument before it ever has a chance to build.