The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The Good News! » » Sample Gospel Routine? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Joe Bryant
View Profile
New user
Knoxville, TN - USA
6 Posts

Profile of Joe Bryant
John wrote in another thread: "I usually make a case in my introduction, saying something like this: "What I appreciate about illusion as an audience is that when it happens, for the moment it happens, the impossible is made visible. When you think of it, that's a pretty good art form to use to speak of and give glory to life's Lord because Christian's believe that in Jesus Christ the impossible has not only been made visible, it has been made real. So for a few moments this evening I'd like to use the art of illusion to speak of the truth of Jesus Christ. "

I'm brand new to the magic thing. But this idea of combining magic with the Gospel is very interesting to me. Does anyone have a sample routine that they've found to be effective that they would share? Basically, something that included and expands on the patter John starts off with above?

I just don't have a clear picture of how this would tie to a presentation of the Gospel. Or am I missing the point - is it more common to see a general entertainment type routine that just happens to be for a church audience?

Much thanks in advance.

Joe
Georgia Boy
View Profile
Regular user
102 Posts

Profile of Georgia Boy
It sounds like that was just his intro into a Gospel based illusion, or set of illusions. I taught a 4th grade class on Gospel illusions and you could take almost any 'regular' trick and give a message.

If you are familiar with "The Wordless Book" approach of a Gospel presentation, I use a change bag producing silks of each color in the Wordless Book and explain each one, at the end the silks are put back in the 'empty' bag and WALA! a bouquet of spring flowers is produced.