The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » We double dare you! » » Ukulele Magic (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MERose
View Profile
New user
Maryland
54 Posts

Profile of MERose
I've been playing the ukulele for a couple years and only took it up as a fun way to relax, never intended to play it in public. But I've been thinking lately about incorporating it into my stand-up show. I perform comedy and I think the instrument would be an interesting addition to the show. I know that John Archer has used a ukulele in his act, but as far as I can tell he doesn't use it for a magic trick, just a fun interlude. So my question is how could it be incorporated into a magic routine? Any thoughts anyone?

Thanks!

Mike
MERose
View Profile
New user
Maryland
54 Posts

Profile of MERose
I guess this is a little too odd of an idea since nobody has chimed in! I have a couple ideas that would combine the ukulele with magic but was hoping for some fresh ideas from the forum. Feel free to post any ideas, regardless of how absurd they may be.

Thanks!

Mike
Hudson892
View Profile
Regular user
Sheffield, UK
103 Posts

Profile of Hudson892
Hi Mike!
I've always loved music in magic and I think that the two go together wonderfully. Have you ever seen a man called Oliver Dobson perform? He did magic with violins and doves which was one of the best stage acts I've ever seen. Can't seem to find him anywhere though...

In terms of ideas, I've always liked the idea of first playing an instrument before 'removing' the sound from it. Then when the instrument is played again, no sound comes out. Then, the music starts playing from another object like a table or even from your mouth. You'd obviously need some kind of sound device on tour person that could be activated, but it's just an idea!
Hope this helps,
Toby
Magic Man 997
View Profile
New user
34 Posts

Profile of Magic Man 997