The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hello from California! (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jefkve
View Profile
New user
Orange County, CA
52 Posts

Profile of jefkve
Hello, I'm a relative novice from Orange County California. Been browsing the site for quite some time and interested in finally participating a bit more as opportunities arise. Also considering joining my local IBM ring, so any thoughts there would be appreciated. Thanks!
Mary Mowder
View Profile
Inner circle
Sacramento / Elk Grove, CA
3661 Posts

Profile of Mary Mowder
Welcome jefkve,

Tell us about your interest in Magic.

I will say that if you join local IBM ring you should try to perform regularly, even if you know there are better Magicians there who know all your tricks.

The more you perform (and critique yourself afterward) the faster you will improve. Ask friends to be honest with you. Some club members will tell you that absolutely awful performances are great. (This helps no-one!) Do be prepared to watch some awful "Magic" too (and be kindly honest about it if they ask).

Have fun. I've found the company of other Magicians to be very beneficial both in person and on the Café.

-Mary Mowder
jefkve
View Profile
New user
Orange County, CA
52 Posts

Profile of jefkve
Thank you for the welcome Mary!

My Interest is mainly in cards and coins, but I enjoy other kinds of magic. I've taken the liberty of reading quite a bit on the subject and work on my sleights constantly (much to the annoyance of my wife), but seeking to improve further.