The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » North Carolina, Checking In! (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MySurvive
View Profile
New user
Raleigh, NC
29 Posts

Profile of MySurvive
Hey everyone,

My name is Ricky, but I go by the handle MySurvive on nearly every platform on the web so I figured I'd follow suit here!

I am disgustingly new to magic and cards in general, but I really want to learn. I currently work as a Desktop Support Technician/Client Support Services/[enter title of the week here] at a prestigious University in North Carolina. I've been interested in magic for as long as I can remember, but I've never really had the drive to learn until recently. I don't really have a ton of money to play with right now, but I managed to get a pack of Bicycle cards, Magic and Showmanship by Henning Nelms, and Master Routine Systems by Si Stebbins (if there is anyone in the area that would let me borrow Royal Road & The Expert at the Card Table, you'd be a saint!). I've been practicing my overhand shuffle and some simple card controlling as well as palming cards and double lifting. I'm really intrigued by sleight of hand tricks!

I've been lurking the forums for about a week or so and you all seem like a pleasant bunch. I hope to see all of you around the Café!
Mary Mowder
View Profile
Inner circle
Sacramento / Elk Grove, CA
3661 Posts

Profile of Mary Mowder
Welcome MySurvive,

Cards are a great introduction into Magic. They are easy to carry and the variations in what you can do will last a lifetime.

Check out the "New to Magic" forum and get involved. Start by just reading the Workers" forum. They are real technicians and not particularly welcoming to newbies but eventually you will get enough knowledge to take part (especially if you take their advice).

Best of fun, Ricky. We were all new once.

-Mary Mowder
Dr. O
View Profile
Veteran user
NC
395 Posts

Profile of Dr. O