The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Card switches easier than the double lift (14 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4~5 [Next]
Bob G
View Profile
Inner circle
2831 Posts

Profile of Bob G
Dear Magicians,

I'm a beginner; I've been reading a lot about magic, especially card magic, and have been practicing some simple sleights,(e. g., the Braue Reversal, some false shuffles and cuts, and a couple of simple controls (double undercut, for instance).

I'm wondering if people can suggest some card switches that are technically simpler, and easier to learn, than the double lift. Mind you, I've been practicing the DL, but I've come to agree with those who say that it's a difficult move. Someday I hope to have one that's showable in performance, but in the meantime it would be great if I could learn one or two simpler card switches. I've seen at least one thread on the Café on the topic of avoiding the DL, but it quickly turned into an effort to convince the person who posted the topic that he should learn the DL. I don't need to be convinced.

The obvious candidate is the glide, but let's not talk about the glide. I know that there are some tricks that use it in a natural way, but, since my audience is limited (just my family at the moment), I think the glide would quickly begin to look suspect.

Could people suggest other switches, with, if possible, sources for learning them and tricks that use them?

Thanks so much for whatever you can offer.

Regards,

Bob
Steven Keyl
View Profile
Inner circle
Washington, D.C.
2630 Posts

Profile of Steven Keyl
Bob, switching a card is a very context-sensitive thing. Depending on what trick you're using it for, and when you do the switch, all goes into figuring out the best alternative. If you can provide a little more detail about the trick you're using it in, I'm sure someone here would have a workable solution.