The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Studying advice (12 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
TeddyBoy
View Profile
Regular user
New York, NY
140 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
Hi All. A de facto newbie here trying to find the way to learn sleights/tricks competently, AND to satisfy my curiosity for learning how things are done at a satisfying pace. Like many before me, I am squarely on the Royal Road both in text and DVD. I liven things up with excerpts from Card College and The Magic Book, which provide interesting takes on the subject - especially the Magic Book. I understand that my impatience can be an impediment in this regard.

To the point however, I recently downloaded an ebook by Dominic Reyes entitled Approaching Magic Practice. The material is well-presented and [at least to me] well-thought through, however his strategy for beginners was somewhat shocking. His advice is to focus on one trick/move by practicing it [a]twice a day for [b] 20 minutes each practice, and [c] continuing this for 20 days. This took the wind out of my sails since this limits one's growth to about 18 tricks/moves for the entire year. This sounds very slow to a newcomer like myself. I don't doubt its effectiveness, but I can feel my eyes glass over at that pace.

This may be a tough question for those who started their magic practice while in the womb, but given your life's experiences, is Mr Reyes' approach seem somewhat rigid? Was your early learning experiences similar to Mr. Reyes' prescription? I would love to hear any suggestions.
Cheers,

Teddy
TeddyBoy
View Profile
Regular user
New York, NY
140 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy