The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » No sleight of hands (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

falcon2600
View Profile
New user
30 Posts

Profile of falcon2600
Hi,

being a beginner I was wondering how I could find effects (still appearing as 'miracles') like OOTW, ACAAN etc. which don't use sleight of hands...

Thanks.
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
6950 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
The Tarbell Course (originally produced as a correspondence course in 1927) is available FREE on pdf.

The patter and presentation is now archaic, BUT, the PRINCIPLES are there! --And, you need to know PRINCIPLES.

(That is, if you really want to be a magician!!!)

"Magic" involves "5% sleight of hand skills, 5% sensory illusion, 5% esoteric principles of science, and, 85% PSYCHOLOGY".

"A little knowledge is a dangerous thing. Drink deep or taste not the Pyrean spring." --Alexander Pope

I think I misspelled "Pyrean", but don't let that bother you!

Don't be concerned with "the latest and greatest"! (You cannot BUY magic tricks! You can only BUY secrets and props.)

Most of my act, with which I've made a living, for 50 years, uses principles that I learned from TARBELL.

There are some people here, who meaning well, will recommend specific tricks, that they like (most of which, will require, the purchase of specific props or secrets in books or dvds. You will do better, if you read--and learn--from Doc Tarbell.
SNEAKY, UNDERHANDED, DEVIOUS,& SURREPTITIOUS ITINERANT MOUNTEBANK
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
6950 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
P.S.:l Whether the tricks that you learn to perform, will "...appear as 'miracles', will depend on YOU and YOUR PRESENTATION.

"Those who think that magic consists of doing tricks, are strangers to magic.

Tricks are only the crude residue from which the lifeblood of magic has been drained." --S.H. Sharpe
Harry Lorayne
View Profile
V.I.P.