The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » New to magic - some questions (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

talweiss
View Profile
New user
4 Posts

Profile of talweiss
Hey there,
I'm very new to magic, still working on the basics like pinky break and various shuffles.
to be fair I'm quite terrible at the moment, and all the cards I do right now are pretty basic and don't require slight of hands (binary code 1&2 for example)

I was wondering if you could help me with 2 things - I'm looking for a trick which is simmilar to 'The Same Card' by Dani DaOrtiz, but perheps easier for someone at my level,
also (and this might be a bit far fetched) while not great at cards I am a pianist and I was wondering if maybe there's a card trick that happans while playing the piano? did any magician try something like that before?

Thanks for the help and sorry for the horrible newbie questions
Tal.
DaveGripenwaldt
View Profile
Elite user
429 Posts

Profile of DaveGripenwaldt
Let me throw an idea out an idea on the second question. It would be an easy matter to tie the piano into a trick like this:

Say you experience this weird phenomena when you play the piano. It seems the piano has supernatural powers. You suggest a demonstration.

Shuffle a deck....have them cut to a card, and lay it unseen face down on the table - "Be sure that you don't let anyone or the piano see it!".

Now you ask the piano if it is getting anything. You start sort of rambling tune on the keyboard, not playing anything in particular and as you do, what you are playing resolves itself into "Hit The Road Jack" by Ray Charles.

You announce, "I think that means the card was a Jack...Hmmmm...maybe she is on a role - maybe even a rock and role. What else are you getting?". As you continue to play the tune your playing slowly resolves into the Beatles, "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds".