The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Any great magician that started practicing magic at his/her 40s? (10 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
andrea.corelli
View Profile
New user
Milano area, Italy
75 Posts

Profile of andrea.corelli
Just wondering if I am just too old for this. I am 43 and I am seriously starting to work on it now. Although I have read and practiced a bit in the past (and I know some principles) and I am a good stage presentor (I have been hosting events and DJ'ing for over 25 years so I am completely confident in front of a crowd), it is now I am really getting closer and more interested into it. Ofcourse compared to any school kid out there that has a lot more free time to dedicate to the art than I have, I will never ever be able to get to that level of ability. Do I stand any chance to get even close to be able to entertain people? Sorry if the question is that personal, but since everything I do I try to do it at a pro or semi-pro level, I realy want to know if I am wasting my time or it still makes sense.

Thanks,
Andrea
In the avatar... I am the one falling Smile
elgranmago
View Profile
Veteran user
362 Posts

Profile of elgranmago
Andrea

I got back into magic at exactly your age, 43. I’m now 57. I’m just an amateur yet feel that if I had wanted or needed to go pro, with much practice and determination, I probably could have.

The magic community recently lost one of its giants. Eugene Burger. I LOVE his magic and his persona and regret I didn’t get a chance to meet him personally. (I’ve met Ammar, Williamson and Tamariz). Burger, after studies at Yale, teaching and a career he really didn’t like, became a professional magician, I believe in his 40s. And look at the huge legacy he left to the world of magic!

So, you’re still a young guy and limited only by whatever restrictions you place on yourself.

Go for it!

José