The Magic Cafť
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index Ľ Ľ Our new arrivals Ľ Ľ My Introduction/First Post (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

DrLeeCreighton
View Profile
New user
2 Posts

Profile of DrLeeCreighton
Hello magicians,

I worked as a magic store magician when I was 19Ė20, during my years as an undergraduate. Iíve never performed for more than five people, and am as interested in the sleights and methods as of entertaining. Part of my academic and analytic background I suppose, since my PhD is in Mathematics and I also picked up a Masterís in French (where I am fascinated by the grammar as well as literacy).

Being in the throes of a 4+ year run of unemployment, Iíve dug out my old magic books and am relearning my skills. I never did approach this subject properly. I should have gone through Tarbell, or, as a card man, started with Royal Road, then go through Lorayneís Close-Up Card Magic. Instead I learned what we had in the store and picked up this and that from the shop regulars. I was absolutely in the low intermediate rung, since I could (for example) pull of the Curry change about 75% of the time.

Since Iím starting over again, Iím making a choice that I should have made back then: using poker-sizes cards. I have tiny little Trump-sized hands, so I thought using bridge sized cards would help me. Maybe it did, but Iíve always regretted the choice. Poker size is making this quite difficult, and I donít think Iíll ever be able to do one-handed cuts and the like. In fact, regardless of the point I choose to pinch a card with my middle finger and thumb, thereís no way the card can rotate 360į without hitting hand, so those cool card spins are right out.