The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » Multiplying balls issues (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Stevious
View Profile
New user
Poland
76 Posts

Profile of Stevious
Hello folks
I wanted to perform classic multiplying balls routine, I'm an amateur so for a long time I used silly small 1.3 inches plastic balls (3.3cm). I recently purchased new silicon balls ordered from China, those are 1.7 inches (4.3 cm), but one thing bothers me, I got 4 balls and 2 s***ls, together they can cover the whole regular ball, which means they are quite big, I'm slightly afraid to show the ball from both sides.

I've seen some manipulators produce instantly 4 balls just from 2 balls, for that routine having two s***ls this big makes sense to me, they cover the whole normal ball.

Personally I prefer multiplying balls more slowly, showing the balls from both sides. I bought Salvano's dvd about his multiplying balls routine and it fits me well.

So I thought about shortening my s***l, cutting 3-5mm, making it smaller, less standing out, is it a normal idea?

What is the right ratio of the s***l covering the normal ball? 50% is quite a lot. I will manage to get old wooden balls quite soon, maybe those will suit me.
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
21064 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
Sorry to inform you are all wrong. a good shell does cover 50%. So that you can show both sides. If at some point you want to do a color change, then the other color will show up.

On wooden balls, it is all in the lath machine and how they are shaped.

Your 2nd assumption is also incorrect, you only use one shell, the other is for use when you break the other one.

Of course you can get Bond Lee's DVD and learn how to use both shells in a routine.
Vietnam Veteran 1967, Sgt. E-5

Graduate of Chavez College of Prestidigitation and Showmanship

"Magic With A Twist Of Comedy"
Stevious