The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » General card manipulation issues... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Kallak
View Profile
New user
78 Posts

Profile of Kallak
Hello again,

I'm still brand new, so I figure now might be as good a time as any to ask a few questions about this subject.

How many cards on average do you think make a good card manipulation sequence?

(Granted, I'm still new at this, but I was thinking that about a deck's worth of split fans, and maybe 1/2 - 3/4 of a deck of singles, millions dollars, etc... mixed together might be nice. Thoughts?)

How many different productions do you use your routines typically?

(Right now, I'm trying to make a routine that has several - in the area of 12+ - different productions. Is this too many, do you think?)

What types of problems did you have when you were a few months into learning how to manipulate cards?

(Me personally, I seem to have a problem doing things with both hands. An example of this...I can do the backpalm production well with my right - up to 15+ cards - while my left hand can't even do five. However, ol' lefty can do the perfect and snap productions beautifully, while righty struggles with them. - any specific way to counter this? Practice, obviously, but perhaps something in my mind is causing a problem, too)

Does anyone know what exactly that clear thing was that Peter Marvey had on the back of his hand during his card manipulation sequence? (The thing that allowed him to spread his fingers.) Is there any place to buy one, or at least *see* one? (so I can attempt to create one)

What are the best resources to get ahold of for learning card manipulations?

(I have the J.McBride video series, a few of the old Hugard "Card Manipulations" books, and a couple of other resources - various books mostly. Are there any other good or better sources I could get to aid in the learning process?)