The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Food for thought » » How is it possible to practice misdirection? (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
fengenroll
View Profile
Loyal user
NYC
226 Posts

Profile of fengenroll
I belive I lack the skill to misdirect when I perform, people seem to be analyzing every move I do, and it really makes me nervous.
Well, I'm just a beginner, but I do understand how much you "can get away with" using propper misdirection.
I'd appreciate some advice from you more experienced magicians out there on how you get better at this, and is it possible to practice misdirection in everyday life?
F.
cloneman
View Profile
Elite user
474 Posts

Profile of cloneman
To paraphrase a great magician (I'm not sure which one, magic historians help me out here), one key to misdirection is to cause the audience to WANT to look somewhere else. For example, in a cups and balls routine, the final load typically occurs right after the cup is lifted to reveal what's underneath. At that moment the audience wants to look and see what's under the cup, not what your hands are doing. As a result, the loading can be done in an unhurried manner.

Bad misdirection occurs when an audience feels as if they’re being forced to look somewhere. A case in point is the finger point. You’ve just done a false transfer of a coin and now you point to the hand that’s supposed to be holding it. Unless you’re entertaining 2 yr olds, the chances are that the audience knows which hand “took” the coin and any pointing just draws attention to the pointing hand, not away from it. It’s better to let the “dirty” hand remain soft – boring, if you will – and have the “taking” hand wiggle its fingers, just a little, as if it’s moving the coin around inside the hand (I think this was a Dai Vernon tip).
"Anything is possible... if you don't know what you are talking about."
Jonathan Townsend
View Profile