The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Spectators figuring it out. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
JasonV
View Profile
New user
10 Posts

Profile of JasonV
I'm new to magic (my first post!) and have come up with a bit of a problem when I'm doing tricks...

I do mostly card stuff and got a little repitoire of tricks that I do really well. I generally do these for friends at work, or people I meet at a parties... The thing is, after doing them there's always a person or two - those analytical/logical type people - who start discussing amoungst themselves how the trick was done.. And once in awhile, they figure it out.

Now, normally I try to distract them as quickly as possible with another trick... but this doesn't always work (especially if it's a good effect.. even after I'm done, they'll be discussing it again.. )

I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions with regard to this?
Kent Wong
View Profile
Inner circle
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2458 Posts

Profile of Kent Wong
You can't stop people from being who and what they naturally are. If they are analytical, they will naturally want to solve the puzzle you have presented to them.

Notice I did not use the word magic. Magic leaves no room or necessity for explanation. These are extremely rare moments that should be cherished and enjoyed.

By performing the effects you do, in the manner you do, you may be posing a challenge to the spectators to try and figure out how it is done. This reduces the effect to a mere puzzle, and human nature wants to solve a puzzle.

Puzzles can be very entertaining, but it isn't on the same level as magic. So, what you really need to do is try to elevate your performance to the next level.