(Close Window)
Topic: Arrghh! PC problem
Message: Posted by: hkwiles (Apr 2, 2005 03:39PM)
Any of you PC buffs help me?
I got a CD-RW drive the other day and tried to install it ..no problem followed the instructions.Trouble is the original DVD/CD ROM drive (set as Master) doesn't work..if I put a CD in it it locks up the PC. The new CD-RW(Slave) works OK. I tried changing positions and switching Master/slave between the two.. same thing.
I have now just reverted to the original configuration DVD/CD Rom drive only, with its original cable, Problem now is..it will play DVDs OK and software programs...just doesn't want to know about audio CD's .locks the PC up as before !
Arrghh I'm going mad..and me with a Degree in Electronics !!!!
Howard
Message: Posted by: Mark Rough (Apr 2, 2005 06:29PM)
For me, the solution to all PC problems is quite simple. You'll need a chair and an open window. Stand on the chair and jump off of it onto the computor. Repeat as necessary. Then throw the remains out the open window. It alway worked. It was the only thing that worked. And it only cost me several thousand dollars a year. Now I drive a Mac. No problems.

;)

Mark
Message: Posted by: mentalvic (Apr 2, 2005 07:39PM)
Have you tried going into your control panel and doing the "Install/Remove New Hardware" routine?

See if your machine needs help there. The wizard (ironic given the forum) can handle most problems.

Give it a try. Maybe a driver was misplaced or improperly installed.
Message: Posted by: hkwiles (Apr 3, 2005 06:34AM)
Latest.......
I got CD RW as Master on secondary IDE and DVDcd ROM as Slave.

CD-RW works OK...DVDcd ROM plays DVDs and software....but just doesn't recognise

audio cd's and locks up windows.


any more ideas ?

Howard
Message: Posted by: Dennis Michael (Apr 3, 2005 08:44AM)
As times moves forward, so does the hardware and without notice of incompatabilities.

I got the latest in XP and CPUs so these things won't happen.

Cheap dives come at a price, there are some that don't work with others so the companies get rid of them.
Message: Posted by: hkwiles (Apr 3, 2005 09:03AM)
Yes Den...but that's not the problem..the original DVDcd ROM drive works...its just that when audio cd's are inserted it doesn't work..even when it is the only drive connected. Could a drive have a fault like this whereby it plays DVD and software but not audio cds?
Howard
Message: Posted by: mentalvic (Apr 3, 2005 06:16PM)
Have you run the hardware detection wizard from your control panel?
Message: Posted by: jonesc2ii (Apr 5, 2005 12:34PM)
I know this might sound obvious, but have you reconnected the audio lead? I did this a few years ago, couldn't understand what had happened, turned out I had unplugged the audio connector and hadn't plugged it back in.
Message: Posted by: Partizan (Apr 5, 2005 03:29PM)
Don't twin devices if you can help it.

I would run the CDRW on one IDE cable and the DVD on the other. This is normal practise.
Message: Posted by: hkwiles (Apr 5, 2005 03:43PM)
Yeah but as I said I returned the system to its previous state i.e, just the DVD cd rom drive on its original cable on the secind IDE connection. It still won't play audio cds..
I'm taking it in to work tomorrow and letting a friend try it in his system see it works there,

Howard
Message: Posted by: Magic.J.Manuel (Apr 5, 2005 09:33PM)
Does the system appear to be playing? Windows media player pop-up?

You should get another IDE adapter card so you can put each drive as master on its own adapter. They are not very costly, and it is the best way to make disk to disk copies. It also will solve and incompatibilities with the new CDRW.

Also make sure that you have the latest drivers and software,
and double check the wire for playing audio CDs that goes from the back of the drive to the sound card as previously mentioned.
Message: Posted by: pezgod (Apr 6, 2005 08:01AM)
Try these 2 things...Take the jumpers out of both of them..see if that works, or set it to Cable Select.