(Close Window)
Topic: An interesting exchange regarding Intellectual Property Rights.
I just received (and corresponded) with a new forum member that PM’d me.

I have removed his name and age references to protect his identity, but I think it gives an interesting insight into how some people view Intellectual Property Rights.

New user:
[quote]
Hi,
I am just starting out studying magic ( a newbie). I love things that involve money, such as dollar bill tricks and coin vanishes, etc..etc. Anything and everything I learn has to be free because of my financial situation. So far, another magician gave me copy of Modern Coin Magic by JB Bobo. I study it and practise the concealments and vanishes in it.

Because I love things involving the use of money, I was wandering if you would be willing to teach me 'Misleading Mislead'? I will not reveal the secret to anyone, and I will practise it religiously. Please?

Thank You.
Wellington[/quote]

My response:
[quote]Why wouldn’t you want to learn it from the video that the creator has available?
Bob [/quote]

New user
[quote]I would love to learn it from the video, but unfortunately, I can not afford the video because of my financial status. Everything I learn about magic comes from someone teaching me the trick, or from the internet for free, or from books from the library.

That is the reason, I ask you if you will teach me 'Misleading Mislead', please?

Thank You.
Wellington[/quote]

My response:
[quote]You are 3X years old and want other people to spend their money purchasing trick so you can freeload them for nothing.

The forum is for the exchange of ideas between magicians not a place to cheat creators out of their fair income.

I can not help you.

Bob [/quote]

New user
[quote]No, I am 3X not 3X, anyways.....I am not asking for other people to spend their money so I can freeload a trick off of them.