(Close Window)
Topic: Bazar de Magia or Morrissey Cups and balls
I have been looking at both sets of cups. I need a starter set of cups and I can afford both the Bazar de Magia cups and the Morrissey cups. I was wondering which cups are the better cups and how they satck up in quality, weight, etc. Also what type of cup should I get Brass, Copper, or Aluminum. As you can probably tell I am new to cups and balls and this will be my first real set of cups.
I have a set of each, I don't claim to be a expert but from my experiance and advice I got from others on the Café the Bazars win. The Morrisey cups don't have a big enough dimple to hold the balls a short coming pointed out by others on the forum. If you get the Combo Morrisey the gimmick cup stands out. At least the version I have which were the tall copper cups. The Morrisey cups have a slightly nicer finish. The Bazar set I have is the brass standard (not chop) set. While the finish isn't as nice as the Morrisey I consider it a advantage since they beg to be used and could be polished if wanted. For my money the copper or brass look much better. I have a aluminum set from another maker and its not a fair comparison but they aren't as heavy and lack the feel of the heavier cups. You will probably get more qualified opinions from others but perhaps my 2 cents is of some value.
Have to agree with Doublelift, DeMagia in the way to go. Morrissey used to manufacture some nice cups, but their design change has definately failed them in their recent changes, this even affected the gaff in thier combo sets. Ickle Pickle also has some good cups, both straight and combo, despite them being only in aluminum, they do use 050 gauge for their cups.

Jake
[url=http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewtopic.php?topic=149229&forum=115&9]Here's[/url] a thread of a similar topic.