(Close Window)
Topic: Most embarrassing moments!
I have never worked in a bar or restaurant until now, but I have been thinking of horrible things that can happen when performing for people close up on a table. What if suddenly, when performing a coin trick, you drop the coin in the bowl of soup that a guy has just ordered? What would you do when you do your first trick to a table and that the spectator drop his glass of red wine on you and that your costume is ruined for the whole night?
What are your most embarrassing moments when you worked at bar or restaurant?
I once had a lady vomit in my coat pocket. All you can do is excuse yourself and move-on.
I've had a little girl start uncontrollably crying when I was at the table. The entire restaurant looked over like I did it...lol
When I was a beginner, I only had tricks with double lifts. lol, so when I was doing a trick, someone caught my first double lift, I messed up badly, and I had no other tricks. :bawl:

But now I do! :bg:
One night I went up to a table with two older patrons sitting at it. I said, "How are you ladies doing tonight?" The lady looked at me and said, "That's my husband!"

Dooooh!

I now always say, "So, How are you FOLKS doing tonight?"

(In my defense, the husband had long hair and was sitting facing away from me and didn't really look like a guy. No matter though, I felt like a @$*&$^*%!)
Recently I went up to a large group of people that was having a party, and after I introduced myself as the magician, a gentleman that was extremely overweight asked if I could magically make him lose 200 lbs. Now I never want to embarass any spectator, but I also never had anyone ask me that question, so I thought I'd say one of my clever lines that usually pokes a little fun at myself. I said, "Unfortunately I'm not that good," which was just terrible in this case. I ended up making him the magic hero in one of my effects to help ease the situation.