(Close Window)
Topic: Ventriloquism 101
I've done my research on DVD's and recommended training materials to add ventriloquism to a birthday show (thank you magic Café members!!), and I'll put in the time to practice.

I'm interested in the Axtell Rodney Rabbit. As a complete beginner, what I don't know is what options make sense for me. Being that I'll probably splurge $350 on the rabbit alone, money isn't really a deciding factor in choosing any of the additional add-on options. I'm right handed - what options would you recommend if any? No Rods, Left Elbow Rod, Right Elbow Rod, Both Elbow Rods, Left Wrist Rod, Right Wrist Rod, Both Wrist Rods?

Thanks,
Bob
If you are using him for vent work you would need a full bodied puppet. If you will be working him with your right hand the only add on you might require is a left elbow rod, though this is by no means necessary. My current Willie the Kid has an elbow rod but I have just ordered one without.
Highly recommend one elbow rod on the side of your free hand. It will greatly enhance your performance if you use it.

Ax
Thanks!

Is there a general recommendation where a right-handed person often does better with a right-handed puppet? Intuitively, that seems like that would be the case, but as the rookie...
I think that if you're right handed you will have an easier time learning using a right handed puppet. You're naturally going to have more coordination with that hand and you'll have your hands full enough learning basic vent and manipulation without having to try and add the "other" hand into the equation.